Delaying medical services after a car accident could affect your rights.
By Personal Injury Attorney David Hammer
Those injured in an accident seeking Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits, such as reimbursement for medical bills, and lost wages, MUST receive medical services within 14 DAYS after the accident. Additionally, there are other requirements to consider.
This Florida No-Fault Law applies to accidents involving a motor vehicle occurring on or after January 1, 2013. Also, medical services received after an accident will ONLY be paid if they are provided by a licensed physician, licensed osteopathic physician, licensed chiropractic physician, licensed dentist, or rendered in a hospital, or emergency transportation and treatment provider.
Depending if an emergency medical condition has been diagnosed, Florida law also specifies two different monetary coverage limits for medical benefits:
- Up to $ 10,000.00 if a physician, osteopathic physician, dentist, physician’s assistant or advanced nurse practitioner determines that a patient had an emergency medical condition (defined as a medical condition with acute symptoms that without treatment would result in serious harm to the patient).
- Up to $ 2,500.00 if there is no emergency medical condition.
Either way, if you do not receive your initial medical service within fourteen days of your accident, you will not be entitled to any payments under the above coverage.